michaeliorew.blogg.se

Remington sportsman 78 270 parts bolt action
Remington sportsman 78 270 parts bolt action











It also taught me a thing or two about jumping the gun and humility lessons that can benefit us all… So I went back to fill in the blanks and ended up re-writing the article as despite its homely looks the 710 had some serious potential. I kid you not, as a friend was with me who also knows a few things about accurate rifles and his initial comments matched mine. With 130-grain Remington Express ammo that damn gun was pulling in 5/8” groups at 100 yards off the bench. Typically it was chambered in 270 Win or 30-06…Įdgar sent me a 710 in 270 Winchester and I have to say I pretty much wrote the article even before I fired the gun, the trip to the range was merely to confirm how badly I ‘knew’ it was going to perform. However, it offered a good detachable magazine, solid action and came fitted with a workable 3-9x40 scopes, so you got it all in one cheap and apparently nasty package. Remington obviously realised that there was a market here and set about addressing it! The end result was the Model 710 probably the ugliest and most unlovely sporting rifle I have ever seen. Most of these people don’t even go to gun shops, instead the sporting goods section of their local K-Mart or similar super market, where you can buy rifles and ammo as easy as you can tennis rackets. But they want a scoped, fullbore rifle that can knock down a white tail or two… Then they go home and stash the gun somewhere and forget about it, only to start the same process next year. There are thousands of these people, they buy their deer tag, hunt once a year and have no real interest in guns as regular shooters do. It was however aimed at a very specific market - the occasional US hunter. You may not be aware of the 710, as you would not for a second think it was a Remington.

remington sportsman 78 270 parts bolt action

Occasionally you can get it wrong and this was brought home to me a few years ago when Edgar Brothers (Remington imports) sent me the Model 710.

remington sportsman 78 270 parts bolt action

Over the years I have looked at possibly thousands of guns, and you start to get a feeling for what’s good and what’s not.













Remington sportsman 78 270 parts bolt action